Honorary Life Members

Honorary membership of the Society can be voted at a General Meeting of the Society, for those members who have performed significant service to the Society usually over a long period, on the recommendation of the Executive Committee as set out in the Society rules.

Criteria for Honorary Membership of the Society:
As is set out in the Constitution, persons considered eligible for honorary membership are recommended to a General Meeting of the Society by the Executive Committee.  Criteria for the award would usually involve significant service to freshwater science and/or to the Society, usually over a lengthy period.  It is recommended that any nominations for honorary membership could be received by the Executive committee from members at least two months prior to any General Meeting of the Society, to provide time for the Committee to consider these and make a recommendation to the General Meeting with adequate notice as required in the Society Rules. 

The following members have been awarded honorary membership:
Dr Brian Sorrell
Dr A.M.R. Burnett
Dr V. Cassie-Cooper
Dr M.A. Chapman
Dr G.R. Fish
Dr E.A. Flint
Dr D.J. Forsyth
Dr R.M. McDowall
Dr D. Scott
Dr V.M. Stout
Dr E. White
Prof. Emeritus M.J. Winterbourn
Prof. C. Burns
Dr Maureen Lewis

Past Officers

Past presidents, secretaries and editors of the Society are listed below.

Past Presidents
1968-1973  Dr V.M. Stout
1973-1975  Dr M.A. Chapman
1975-1976  Dr J.M.A. Brown
1976-1978  Dr C.W. Burns
1978-1980  Dr M.J. Winterbourn
1980-1984  Dr B.T. Coffey
1984-1988  Ms S.F. Davis
1988-1992  Dr J.C. Ward
1992-1996  Dr P. Ryan
1997-2000  Dr I.K. Boothroyd
2001-2002  Dr J.S. Harding
2003-2006  Mr N.A. Deans
2007-2010  Dr Kevin Collier
2011-2014  Professor David Hamilton

Past Secretary/Treasurers
1968-1973  Mr A.M.R Burnet
1973-1976  Dr C.W. Burns
1976-1978  Ms L.H. Tierney & S.F. Davis
1978-1980  Dr B.T. Coffey
1980-1982  Dr J.A. Robb
1982-1984  Dr D. Forsyth
1984-1986  Mr B. Biggs
1986-1989  Dr I.W. Lineham
1990-1992  Dr D. Rowe
1992-1994  Dr J. Jasperse
1994-1996  Dr I. Boothroyd
1996-1998  Dr. K.J. Collier
1999-2000  Dr J.S. Harding
2001-2012  Dr Brian Sorrell
2013-2016  Ms Janine Wech

Past Editors
1968-1970  Dr M.A. Chapman
1970-1972  Dr S.F. Mitchell
1972-1975  Dr M.J. Winterbourn
1975-1980  Dr T.K. Crosby
1980-1982  Dr M.F. Beardsell
1982-1985  Dr J.A. Robb
1986-1988  Dr J.C. Ward
1988-1989  Dr J.D. Stark
1989-2002  Ms J. Talbot
2002-2004  Dr R. Young
2004-2006  Dr M.J. Winterbourn
2007-2009  Dr N. Philips
2010-2012  Ms H. J. Rainforth
2013-2016  Ms Kati Doehring

In this section: