Conference Awards 2013

The following student awards were presented at the NZFSS conference in Hamilton:
• SIL Trust Prize: Best Oral Presentation - $500
- Jessica Hill (University of Canterbury): “Inanga reproduction: putting fewer eggs into multiple baskets.”

• SIL Trust Prize: Best Masters or Honours Oral Presentation - $150
Katie Brasell (Victoria University of Wellington): “Tracking changes in the microbial community composition of toxic benthic freshwater cyanobacterial mats in the Hutt River.”

• SIL Trust Prize: Best Poster - $150
- Nathan Watson (The University of Waikato): “Assessing next generation sequencing of rotifer communities to measure lake water quality”.

• Department of Conservation Best Conservation Paper - $250
- Peter Jones (University of Otago): “Do life history strategies drive trout interactions in a species complex of non-migratory galaxiids”.

• Department of Conservation Best Conservation Poster - $250
- Jessica Hill (University of Canterbury): “Tagging experiments on adult inanga: growth & migration.”

• Golder Best Applied Paper - book voucher
- Raymond Tana (The University of Waikato): “Evaluating ontogeny & population connectivity of Antarctic toothfish (Dissostichus mawsoni) within the Ross Sea using otolith chemistry.”

• Golder Best Applied Poster - book voucher
- Rebecca Eivers (The University of Waikato): “A decision making toolbox for constructed wetland design within areas of intensive agricultural land-use.”

• CSIRO Best NZFSS student researcher presentation - $100
- Mahuru Robb (The University of Waikato): “Matauranga Maori, science & health of the Toreparu Wetlands.”

NZFSS Medal 2013
The NZFSS Medal was awarded (in absentia) to Carolyn Burns, Emeritus Professor, University of Otago.

Recent News: