Honorary members

Honorary membership of the Society can be voted at a General Meeting of the Society, for those members who have performed significant service to the Society usually over a long period, on the recommendation of the Executive Committee as set out in the Society rules.

Criteria for Honorary Membership of the Society:

As is set out in the Constitution, persons considered eligible for honorary membership are recommended to a General Meeting of the Society by the Executive Committee.  Criteria for the award would usually involve significant service to freshwater science and/or to the Society, usually over a lengthy period.

It is recommended that any nominations for honorary membership could be received by the Executive committee from members at least two months prior to any General Meeting of the Society, to provide time for the Committee to consider these and make a recommendation to the General Meeting with adequate notice as required in the Society Rules.

The following members have been awarded honorary membership:

Prof. Jon Harding
Dr Don Jellyman
Dr Brian Sorrell
Dr A.M.R. Burnett
Dr V. Cassie-Cooper
Dr M.A. Chapman
Dr G.R. Fish
Dr E.A. Flint
Dr D.J. Forsyth
Dr R.M. McDowall
Dr D. Scott
Dr V.M. Stout
Dr E. White
Prof. Emeritus M.J. Winterbourn
Prof. C. Burns
Dr Maureen Lewis